Tags

, , , , , ,

This week we have the portion Noach to read and study about.  I get Hebrew4Christians updates in my Facebook feed and John had this little blurb from his site today that I thought was very thought provoking.

It is astounding to consider that Abraham personally knew Noah (Abraham was 58 years old when Noah died), and undoubtedly Noah told him of his father Lamech, who had seen and spoken with Adam who was created by God alone. Later, Abraham’s son Isaac personally knew Shem, Noah’s firstborn son, and the legacy of the “gospel of the garden” was thereby passed on… Hebrew4Christians Parashat Noach

The are a ton of themes and different narratives that are in this small little bit of the Bible, repentance, faith, we also have the introduction of Laws of God which the sages expanded into the Noachide laws.

I really like how TC explains where the sages expanded the seven laws out of the four given to Noah and how the Apostles in their Jerusalem Council ruling used them as a template for the gentiles coming to faith in Yeshua. In that way brought Jews and Gentiles closer together, especially for table fellowship, and Gentiles and Pagans farther apart.

We also have the clean and unclean animals on the ark issue, the Torah doesn’t say anywhere that Noah ate only clean animals after the flood, though he did know the difference between the two and this was most likely for sacrifice purposes. The four laws given to Noah were;

  • to be fruitful and multiply, also given to Adam and Eve
  • not to eat meat with blood in it or not to maim a living animal for food
  • do not murder
  • and to put murders to death.

Nimrod, one of the few mentions of hunting, Nimrod was a mighty hunter before the Lord.  Rashi sees this as being against the Lord, so we see the first mention of a ruler against God. The first in a long line through out history. Was this because he was a hunter or because he was before/against the Lord.

The Tower of Babel, this story always captured my imagination as a kid. My parents had a huge family Bible with pictures of classical paintings relating to the stories. I think the painting for the Tower of Babel was similar to the one above, a spiraling tower curving towards God, a picture of man trying to reach the heavens. But as I’ve been reading lately the tower most likely would have been a ziggurat from an early Mesopotamian civilization. And in this book the author relates how the ziggurats were a thought to be a gateway to heaven but not for the people to go up but for the god to come down. It puts an interesting spin on the Tower of Babel story if we see the people building a gateway to the heavens to call down God. It is a very controlling kind of mission. I can see God wanting to put a stop on that.

Well that’s all I can pull out of my tired little brain so far. I took notes on the commentary as I went this time and it really helped me to focus more on the content a little better. It also helps me perk up my eyes and ears whenever I see a bit of info that comes across my path via Facebook, blogs, email or what have you. I really am enjoying the process so far. I’m really trying hard not to read ahead  and just let it all soak in this week.

 

Edit: This post by James is insightful. He really pulls Noah, Moses and Yeshua together.  

