Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

Last week’s portion was Lech Lecha, the story of how God called Abraham out of Haran with his family and all that they owned, along with the promises and tests of Abraham and Sarah along the way.

I have to admit I’m feeling pretty blah about writing right now, it’s a couple days past Shabbat and I’m just now getting around to putting my thoughts down. One of the possible reasons is the weather, we’ve probably received our last early fall warmth and the cold has set it. I’m not usually a happy camper the last two months of the year due to a variety of reasons but I hope to trudge through it for another year. The sun is peaking out of the gloom a little bit this afternoon so I hope I can finish this up and start on this week’s Scripture reading.

I only have a couple of sections that stood out to me for this week so I think this will be a quick post but who knows with the kidlets around and awake.

One of the main themes of Lech Lecha is the faith of Abram, his faith is actively walked out he listened and then did what he was told. I’m always telling myself to remember that faith not is a cognitive exercise or a merely spiritual held belief. Faith is trust in the faithfulness of God. Faith is hope, faith is belief, all be it in things we can’t see or things that haven’t happened yet but we trust God to keep his word. We trust him to do the things that he said he would do. Faith also requires action, Abraham went when told to “go forth”. Lancaster puts it much better then me, pulling from John 8:39;

“Abrahamic faith is not just revelation; Abrahamic faith demonstrates itself in man’s response to revelation.”…”Yeshua says:”If you were Abraham’s children, you would be doing the works Abraham did.” John 8:39″

Torah Club v.5, Parashat Lech Lecha, pg. 69, D. Thomas Lancaster, First Fruits of Zion, 1-800-775-4807 www.ffoz.org

He goes on to elaborate the things that Abraham did which we can see from the text.

Another section that stood out to me in the commentary was under the Procreation  or New Creation. Here Lancaster uses teachings from the sage Rabbi Berekiah and Paul to translate forward the salvation by faith for the believing Gentiles.

The transformation of the believing Gentiles into spiritual sons of Abraham fulfills the new-creation name of Abraham: “Father of Many Nations.” Through faith in the God of Abraham, Gentiles from many nation have become spiritual sons of Abraham who, in turn, has become a great nation and a father of nations, fulfilling the words of the oracle.”

Torah Club v.5, Parashat Lech Lecha, pg. 72, D. Thomas Lancaster, First Fruits of Zion, 1-800-775-4807 www.ffoz.org

I am really liking how this week’s commentary has pulled together and explained the faith of Abraham and how the believing Gentiles. It’s really helping me feel more comfortable with teachings of Paul.

I also listened to the podcast from Beth Immanuel about this portion where Lancaster elaborated on the missionary work of Abraham and Sarah, he mirrored the Great Commission with the work of Abraham, which tradition says made souls. Very good stuff.

